Other Genetic Mutations and 23 and Me Data

Where has Kathy Ireland been this summer?2014-09-26 13.32.462014-07-25 15.20.19

2014-10-26 11.15.48 Well, in a few words, rafting on the Animas, biking along the river, train ride to Silverton, Braveheart women, new friends, Utah family, wonderful Grandson time, Portland Farmer’s Markets, movies, amazing restaurants, jigsaw puzzles and new seaside friends….and finally back to Maui!

2014-10-27 15.49.15

That was the positive stuff of my summer…now on to the health issues.

In my last post I mentioned that I found I have a MTHFR gene mutation and active chronic Epstein Barr virus.  So, what next.  Well, as I was researching MTHFR I realized it’s important to find out what other mutations you have to know exactly how to proceed.  So I searched for people knowledgeable with analyzing gene mutations and a biochemist popped up right where I was living in Durango, CO, Steve Ottersberg, who is working through the Namaste Integrative Health Center.  Steve said before I do anything else I needed to request testing through 23 and Me.  For $99 they will send you the DNA test kit, you spit in the tube and send it back, they will then notify you when the data is ready.  FDA has requested that 23 and me provide proof that their data analysis is correct, so until that has been completed you can go through Genetic Genie, who, for a donation of $10, will put the raw data from 23 and me and analyze it and provide you with a report showing you all your methylation gene mutations in a simple easy to read format.

Sounds complicated but it was actually very easy.  It took me about 4 weeks to get the results. I did this and provided the reports to biochemist, Steve.  Steve then compiled all the data into a flow chart and assessment plan and took 2 hours explaining how each works and what I need to do to assist them…..whewwww!

So, that’s where I am.  Lot’s of information.  I know you’re  probably thinking….well, a lot of people probably have mutations and they’re fine…this is a bunch of hog wash.  Well, that’s true, people have mutations and it doesn’t affect them, but if you let your immune system get low, or you have Hashimoto’s Disease like I do, or you get a nasty infection, in my case Epstein Barr Virus, that lowers your defenses even further, it activates these mutations to the point they do become a problem.  Also, you can have just one mutation from one parent, which still allows things to work, or you can have a mutation from both parents, which makes it much more difficult.

So, I’m working on it, but it could still be a long road ahead.  I’m writing this because if you feel you’ve tried everything, you have a perfect diet, you exercise, you meditate, connect with people, worked on healing your gut, liver, immune system and nothing seems to work, you may want to look at infections, viruses, and mutations.

I’m currently spending the next 2 weeks on a low sulfur diet to reset the regulatory mechanism in methylation pathways.  The goal is to relieve the stress caused by excess sulfur metabolites.  This helps to reboot your methylation pathways, helping your body to absorb nutrients better and detox toxins much more efficiently.  This can make a big difference in your energy level, your moods, and your body’s ability to handle severe and chronic disease.

After this I will start taking 5-methylfolate slowly and increase over time.  I really think this is going to help because I was using a cream with just a little methylfolate in it and felt more energy.

From Eckhart Tolle’s book, The Power of Now, “If you cannot accept what is outside, then accept what is inside.  Do not resist pain.  Allow it to be there.  Surrender to the grief, despair, fear, loneliness, witness it without labeling it mentally.  Embrace it.  Then see how the miracle of surrender transmutes deep suffering into deep peace.”

Leave a Reply

