Liquid DHEA and Fish Oil

With determination and grit I’m hanging in there, but having setbacks last week with extreme exhaustion and vertigo has been a bit of a disappointment. The week before last I was so encouraged to have small glimpses of a normal life and was able to really ride my bike again.  It feels like total freedom to ride down a trail, all your senses coming alive, the sound of the river flowing swiftly by and a pinwheel of smells from pine trees to cottonwoods bringing back pleasant memories from childhood, smiling at people passing by, being grateful for my body’s ability to function in this way….like in the movie, “Fried Green Tomatoes” when she shouts, “Towandaaaaaaaa” being in the moment, feeling strong and doing what feels right.  I’m always second guessing why my energy leaves my body….did I ride my bike too far?  Did I eat something I shouldn’t have? Is there stress or things in my life I’m not dealing with that I need to? Probably….but right now all I can do is keep on keeping on, listening to my body telling me what it needs, finding ways to accept what is with joy and grace.

I’ve done 3 weeks with the RepairVite, Strengtia probiotics and diet. This week Dr. Scott said I would need to be on this diet for 5 weeks instead of 4 because the first week I didn’t take the correct dosage of RepairVite….Arghhhhh!  He added liquid DHEA, 5 drops sublingually every morning the first week, then 5 drops morning and evening thereafter and Metagenics Fish oil, 2 capsules 3 times a day.

Apex Energetics liquid DHEA 5 mg

Metagenics OmegaGenics EPA-DHA 500 EPA 400 mg DHA  600 mg

I asked Dr. Scott about why I’m experiencing the extreme exhaustion still and he said that his first thought is I’m not consuming enough calories.  He said I should have at least 1500 a day, which when he looked at my food journal it looked like I was close to that.  He said when I get back from walking or riding the bike have a sweet potato and some protein to build my energy back up.  He also reminded me that I’m at the beginning of a 9 part journey and to expect set backs at times but know that I will eventually feel better.  I lost another pound but he thinks it’s stabilizing and I probably won’t lose any more.

When I finish this 5 week diet phase I’ll begin the ClearVite part of the program, cleansing the liver, and will be able to start having brown rice and nuts…yahoo, and then start adding back foods like eggs, dairy, grains one at a time for 3 days to see if I have any reactions.  I believe reactions can be many things beyond the normal stomach pain, such as headaches or intense itching as well as emotional things.  Not looking forward to that.

A friend gave me a book that’s been inspiring me daily, The Power of Now, by Eckhart Tolle.  Here is one excerpt about helping yourself stay in the moment and not be in your head so much thinking about the past or future, “… ask yourself:  Is there joy, ease and lightness in what I am doing?  If not see if you can give more attention to the DOING rather than the result that you want to achieve and completely accept what is, and not resist it.”

Leave a Reply

