RepairVite Program

I’ve been on the RepairVite Program for 2 weeks as of today.  Basically it’s a regime designed to support intestinal health by supplementing with enzymes and probiotics and following a diet to remove any possible inflammatory foods.  This means I can eat only organic meat (except pork and high mercury fish), vegetables (except nightshades; potatoes, tomatoes, eggplant) and most fruit except high glycemic ones like bananas.  I’m adapting and not feeling too deprived.  I tried a new recipe yesterday, coconut curry chicken vegetable soup.  Pretty darn good I’d say, but I still like the fish soup better.  I lost 5 lbs, which is not good as I’m already very thin (105 lbs).  Dr. Scott said if I lose too much I could possibly add some brown rice to my diet, but for now he’s not concerned.  My energy level is a little better.  I’m able to ride my bike a little further.  I tried the tai chi class today and met a couple nice ladies and exchanged phone numbers.  One of them mentioned that her church also has a lot of activities which sounds like fun.  Healing comes with balance in all areas of your life, so spirituality, friendships, doing things you enjoy are all part of it.  I also went swimming in the recreation center pool….10 minutes slow easy breast stroke then 10 minutes relaxing in the Jacuzzi….nice!

This week Dr. Scott went over my saliva lab results for the following hormones:

TTF (Free Testosterone, E1 (Estrone), E2 (Estradiol), E3 (Estriol), P1 (Progesterone), FSH (Follicle Stimulating Hormone and LH (Luteinizing Hormone)

The tests showed that my Estrone was depressed (mine was 13 should be between 26 – 64) and my Follicle Stimulating Hormone was elevated (mine was 611 should be 90 – 500)

Dr. Scott explained that FSH is secreted from the pituitary gland and regulates the production of estrogen and progesterone.  The hormone that I’m low in is E1 (estrone) which is derived mostly from the adrenal.  He said once I start taking DHEA and later pregnenalone this should help balance these hormones.  There were also tests for AND (Androstenedione) and DHT (Dihydrotestosterone)….mine were both low (AND was 53 should be 75 – 124 and DHT was 15 should be 15 – 75).  Interesting that in females, the outer part of the adrenal glands (cortex) and the ovaries release Androstenedione where it produces half of all testosterone and almost all the body’s estrone.  The hypothalamus and pituitary gland are known to be important in the control of Androstenedione secretion from the ovaries, adrenal cortex and testes in men.  So, I guess, if my adrenal is compromised it makes sense that it’s affecting these hormones.  That’s it for now.  I’ve included the lab notes below, if you’re interested.  Otherwise, I’ll be checking in next week.  Breathe, be present, find joy!

The lab notes show that my hormone values are in Zone 7 – Female Hormone Deficit.  Zone 7 represents a normal testosterone level coupled with deficient progesterone and estrogen levels.  This leads to a relative hyperandrogenic state, i.e. male hormone dominance.  The suboptimal estrogen and progesterone activity is usually associated with several clinical findings and symptoms:

  •  Atrophic changes in bone, skin, vaginal epithelium and breast tissue.
  •  Nervous System (CNS) dysfunction which includes cognitive changes, anxiety, panic    attacks, insomnia and depression with mood swings.
  • Somatic dysregulation in body temperature and vascular flow to skin and brain manifested as hot flushes, excessive perspiration and headaches/migraines.
  • Fertility related problems.

Typical action plan:

  1. Start with moderate progesterone or pregnenolone augmentation.
  2. Retest in 4 – 6 weeks.
  3. Adjust progesterone dose.
  4. Introduce estrogen when applicable.  Re-test 8 weeks later and then fine tune the doses.
  5. Follow up testing recommended annually.

I was also in Zone 7 for Estrogen – Pro-Atrophic, demonstrates low estrogenic activity coupled with normal progesterone levels.  The suboptimal estrogen activity is usually associated with several clinical findings and symptoms: (same as above) and said:

  1. Consider estrogen augmentation only if androgen levels (DHEA and Testosterone) are normal…my DHEA is low.
  2. Consider estrogen and DHEA augmentation in androgen deficiency (DHEA & Testosterone).
  3. Retest hormone levels in 6 – 8 weeks.
2 responses to “RepairVite Program

  1. Hey Karthy, I am in San Diego .. Plz share doc contact details and your mail ID…

Leave a Reply

