Healing Your Gut

This chapter will take me four weeks to complete the protocol which I started on January 11th.  During this time I’ll be having family and friends visiting off and on so it’ll be a challenge but so far so good.  I can tell you that no matter how much you’re looking forward to having the people you love come for a visit it’s all stress and it affects me.  I get totally exhausted…”scary” exhausted.   I need to learn to listen to my body and rest when it tells me to rest and not feel responsible for everyone’s good time….everyone will be fine and feel more relaxed if I’m more relaxed.  I’m at the point where I either have to learn to let go or have my life restricted from bad health….time to get smart and start living.  I know I bring most of it on myself and I just need to breath, be present with what I’m feeling and thinking, and realize that they’re just thoughts, feelings and sensations and everything is fine in this moment.  I love this quote from the book, Full Catastrophe Living by Jon Kabat-Zinn, speaking of your breath “It’s like an old friend, it anchors us, gives us stability…like the bridge piling anchored in bedrock as the river flows around it…10 or 20 feet below the agitated surface is calmness.”  Just BREATH and know that all is well!

Okay, so after reading this chapter I decided what I could reasonably afford to do for healing my gut other than using food, which I’ll go into next.

I’m taking GI cleansing herbs for 4 weeks:  Berberine, artemisinin capsules (200 – 400 mg 2 x a day) on an empty stomach 20 minutes before meals, then Black Walnut capsules, Oregano (200 mg) and Grapefruit Seed extract (250 – 500 mg) after meals.  At night, before I go to bed I take probiotics (she explained that Berberine and artemisinin destroy bacteria so you don’t want to take them at the same time you take your probiotics)  After the 4 weeks I’ll go back to taking my probiotics in the morning and night….Just went to the Farmer’s Market today and a lady was selling a delicious probiotic relish with cabbage and ginger and other spices…really good natural way to add probiotics….as well as coconut kefir…yum!

Here’s the highlights from the Heal Your Gut Chapter from Susan Blum’s book:

“If the T regulator cells in your body aren’t working correctly, the killer cells and/or antibody-producing cells can get stuck in overdrive and become confused about what is foreign and what is not.  This confusion can then cause autoimmune diseases.  All of the steps in this book are aimed at balancing your killer cells and your antibody-producing cells, and to do so we must focus on fixing your T regulator cell function.”

“We are constantly exposed to toxins from cleaning products, pesticides and additives in the food we eat.  It is possible that impaired digestion and a leaky gut due to a lack of beneficial gut flora are the reasons some people develop gluten issues in the first place.  Good bacteria also help the body process vitamins such as B12 and K so they can be better utilized and absorbed by the body.  Having enough friendly flora in your gut reduces the incidence of allergies and autoimmune diseases and restoring and balancing these flora in the gut can treat and reverse these conditions as well.”

Dysbiosis:  An imbalance in your gut’s good bacteria.  There are 5 types:

1.  insufficient good bacteria

2.  small intestinal bacterial overgrowth (SIBO) which occurs in the upper part of the small intestine when bacteria from the colon grow in the wrong place (heartburn and reflux)

3.  immunosuppressive dysbiosis, toxins from harmful bacteria, yeast, or a parasite lower your levels of good bacteria and give off toxins that weaken or break down the gut lining

4.  inflammatory dysbiosis, which is when the body has an exaggerated response to your body’s imbalance of good bacteria (muscle and joint pain

5.  parasites, which can infect the digestive tract and put stress on the population of good bacteria.  Parasites often cause diarrhea, cramping, and bloating, but they can also be silent, causing no gut symptoms but resulting in hives for no clear reason or food and environmental allergies that you have never had before.  All of these types of dysbiosis can be thought of as infections that aren’t detected by routine medical tests or procedures.  The bottom line is that dysbiosis can trigger or promote an autoimmune disease because the lack of healthy flora and the influence of harmful flora cause the immune system to malfunction.

Things  that can cause leaky gut:

Antibiotic use, acute emotional or physical trauma, chronic stress, infections or exposures that were never resolved, chronic dysbiosis, non steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, toxics, alcoholism.

“The latest research on leaky gut syndrome and autoimmune disease shows that almost everyone with an autoimmune disease has leaky gut syndrome, even if there are no gut symptoms.”  With all her patients she does a comprehensive digestive stool analysis to make sure their gut flora is healthy.  “In order to heal and fully heal and balance your immune system we must heal your intestinal lining and make sure you have a good, intact barrier.  Otherwise your immune imbalance and your reactions to food and other antigens will not be cured and will come back again and again.

Next chapter is Healing Your Gut Workbook…

About katherineireland3

I'm originally from Sacramento, CA. Started a career as a civilian in the Air Force at age 19 and retired at 50 as a management analyst. Now I'm able to enjoy discovering what things truly bring me joy and integrating these in all areas of my life, creating a life filled with good health, happiness, compassion and joy. In a search to improve my chronic autoimmune issues I studied with and graduated from the Institute of Integrative Nutrition and started this blog to track and motivate myself while following Susan Blum's book, The immune System Recovery Plan. I now live in Wailuku, HI and spend summers in Utah and Colorado.
This entry was posted in Tests and Results. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healing Your Gut

  1. Johng947 says:

    You are my inhalation, I have few blogs and sometimes run out from to brand. eaebacdbcgeb

Leave a Reply

